top of page
  • vc2043

New zero energy homes from 2016 onwards?

Updated: Nov 1, 2022

Some of you may already know this, but within the next few years, the industry of construction within the UK is being given quite a challenge. It will become compulsory for all new homes built to be zero carbon homes.

There is a system which awards homes a ‘level’ based on how energy efficient and environmentally friendly they are called Code for Sustainable Homes. Your home is assessed against certain criteria, and you are awarded a level from 1-6 with 6 being the highest level achievable.  Which level you get awarded depends on how many of the criteria your home meets, the more criteria met, the higher the level you will get. We will explain what this code is and how you can reach the highest level in another blog.

From 2016 onwards, the government wants all new houses to be built to level 6 of these standards, level 6 is the highest of these standards and to get rated at this level, all of the new homes will need to be completely zero carbon to comply with this.

Here at Building Tectonics, we’ve been working with some new software on a project recently, and have been able to create a 3D model of a code 6 eco house we have designed for a client. We have created a short video which takes you around the exterior of the project.

If you’d like to view our first ever youtube video, then click here!

Written by Jade Turney – Building Tectonics Ltd.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page